Originally posted on Oracle Scratchpad:

We’ve reached that time of year (Autumn, or Fall if you prefer the American term) when I’m reminded that tending a garden is like tending an Oracle database.

This is a picture of the oak tree on my front lawn, taken about 4 hours ago. Looking at it now it shows hardly any sign of the coming winter and little of the colour that let’s you know it’s preparing to drop its huge volume of leaves, but yesterday morning I spent the best part of an hour raking up leaves that had dropped over the course of the previous week.

Over the next six weeks, I’ll be out be out with my leaf rake every few days to clean up the mess – and I’ll look down at the mess that’s on the ground, then look up at the mess that’s waiting to join it, and then I’ll do just…

View original 156 more words

Leave a Reply

