Patient Experience Day 35: Test, Text, Tweets, & Tears


CancerGeek

Today I happen to be in a business meeting when my phone goes off. It is 2:16 pm CST. I know my father is at the medical oncologists office for his weekly appointment, labs, and preparation for his weekly infusion.

It is my mother and her message reads: AT MEDICAL ONCOLOGISTS GIVING DAD AN IV TO HYDRATE, CALLING HOSPICE FOR BOWELS & ANXIETY. ALSO DOING URINE FOR INFECTION.

My reply: SO HE DECIDED TO STOP TREATMENT?

No response for minutes, so I respond with the all to familiar: ????

Mother’s reply: STOPPING CHEMO. HOSPICE COMING TOMORROW.

My mind shifts automatically and go from trying to manage and care for my father into caring for my mother, : OKAY. HOW ARE YOU? HOW ARE YOU DOING?

My mother sends a message telling me that she is “hanging in there” and also asking if I would be able to watch my father…

View original post 746 more words

Leave a Reply

